The House of Garrard is the longest serving jeweler in the world. Its origins can be traced back to 1735, when master silversmith George Wicks opened a store on Panton Street in the heart of London’s West End. It was in this year that the firm received its first royal commission from Frederick, Prince of Wales.
His order marked the beginning of a long and fruitful relationship with the British royal family, which reached its apogee in 1843 when Garrard was appointed the first official Crown Jeweler.
The house has since had the honor of serving every subsequent British monarch, as well as many other royal families around the globe. Over these years, Garrard has handcrafted tiaras, necklaces, brooches and many more magnificent jewels that are still worn by the British royal family, including the Duchess of Cambridge’s sapphire cluster engagement ring.
Today Garrard calls London’s Mayfair its home. A visit to 24 Albemarle Street brings the opportunity not simply to browse its collections, but also to experience history at first hand. The building has witnessed many moments of note, including the creation of Queen Mary’s consort crown in 1911, and jewelry continues to be designed and crafted on site.
Every piece is developed to achieve a balance between tradition and design so as to bring out the natural beauty of the stones. The result is a quintessentially British hallmark of heritage, detail and craft.